With MLS2, you can share learning tasks, projects and learning journeys across organisations. This allows you to share tried-and-tested learning content without having to recreate it in every organisation.
In this article, you’ll find out what the requirements are, how to share content – including on a temporary basis – and what happens when content is amended or withdrawn.
What content can you share? 📚
In MLS2, you can share the following learning content with other organisations:
Learning tasks
Projects
Learning journeys (currently being implemented)
The content is made available to the selected organisation and can be used there.
Prerequisite: Organisations must be enabled for sharing 🔓
Cross-organisational sharing is not automatically available between all organisations in MLS2. For your organisation to be able to share content with another organisation, this connection must first be set up by the MLS team.
Who is allowed to share content? 👤
However, it is up to your organisation to decide who within it is allowed to share content.
Your organisation can use the relevant permissions to specify which learning facilitators are allowed to use the share function. This can be done via the Administration -> Users section and then ‘Permissions’.
Sharing learning content 🤝
If you have the necessary permissions, you can select suitable learning content and share it with an authorised organisation.
To do this, select the organisation(s) with which you wish to share the content.
Depending on the content, you can make a single learning activity, an entire project or a learning journey available.
If you have several organisations listed with which you can share learning content, you can decide whether to select all of them or just specific ones.
Under ‘Optional’, you can specify whether the sharing should be time-limited. If you do not enter anything there, the sharing will be indefinite.
💡 Tip: Always set a time limit whenever it’s already clear that a collaboration or the use of content is only intended for a specific period.
You can always find all learning content that has been shared with others in the relevant tab.
Important: The organisation(s) that have received content from you via the sharing organisation may only assign it. It is not possible to edit or copy the shared content.
This is how it looks within the organisation you use to share your content. You can also find these in a separate tab under ‘Received’.
Stop sharing ↩️
You have two options here:
Unshare
or Delete share
Unshare
This will usually be the standard method. Go to the ‘Shared’ tab to view the content, where you can unshare it for selected organisations or for all of them.
Important: Once you have withdrawn the content, no new assignments can be made in the organisations with which you have shared it. Assignments made before the withdrawal will remain in place. Learners can therefore complete the tasks, and learning facilitators can also mark them.
The withdrawal of approval is indicated in the organisations via the ‘Received’ tab.
Delete shares
You should use the other option if you have accidentally shared content. You can then delete it accordingly. Unlike when you unpin something, deleting content is not visible within organisations. Here too, existing assignments are retained.
Archiving learning content
As soon as you want to archive learning content that has been shared with others, you’ll see a notification to that effect.
If you continue with the archiving process, authorisation for this will be revoked within the organisations.
Updating a shared learning task
Of course, there may be times when you want to update a piece of shared learning content and create a new version for this purpose.
As soon as you move the new version to the pool, it will be shared. This means that, from that point onwards, only the new version can be assigned within the organisations sharing the content.
In the organisation that has the shared learning content, learning facilitators can now also switch existing assignments to the new version.
This can be done via the ‘Assigned Learning Tasks’ section.
By clicking on this icon, you can choose who should receive the new version of the learning activity. Progress records will be retained.
Key points at a glance 💡
Enable organisations: Sharing is only possible between selected organisations. The connection must be set up by the MLS team.
Assign permissions: Your organisation decides which learning facilitators are allowed to share content.
Share content: You can make learning tasks, projects and learning journeys available to enabled organisations.
Set a time period: Sharing can be limited to a specific time frame. ⏰
Withdraw sharing: Content can be withdrawn. Please note that it may already be in use within the other organisation.
Apply updates: If a shared learning task is updated by the publisher, you, as a learning facilitator in the receiving organisation, can then replace the existing learning task with the new version. 🔄
In this way, MLS2 enables the exchange of learning content between organisations whilst ensuring that both the sharing and receiving organisations retain control over their content. 🤝










